Posts Tagged ‘No Pain in Pop’

Echo Lake – Wild Peace



Echo Lake will be releasing their debut album ‘Wild Peace’ through seminal South London label No Pain in Pop on June 25th 2012, whilst over the pond on the same day you’ll be able pick it up on Slumberland Records. Diarise.

Lovely artwork by Natalia Stuyk


The Proper Ornaments – Who Thought




Very happy to see the No Pain in Pop site back up online

The Proper Ornaments debut 12″ is out tomorrow, and you should order it here

No Pain in Pop / Forest Swords / Echo Lake


No Pain in Pop have had a formidable start to the year, with January and February seeing the release of two of the best debut EPs I’ve heard in recent months. Forest Swords’ ‘Dagger’ is  a stunning 6-track by Wirrall based producer, Matthew Barnes. The tracks are a consumate and direct vision of Barnes’ musical landscape – one populated by the spectres of Lee Perry, Pierre Schafer and Ennio Morricone.

You can buy the ‘Dagger Paths EP’, in a variety of formats, from the No Pain in Pop shop here.

Echo Lake’s debut EP, ‘Young Silence’, is an entirely different affair. Released on 14th February 2011, their reverb drenched guitar jams create a fragile and distant prospect, one made intimate by some truly haunting vocal melodies. The EP release party, at the Old Blue Last on February 19th, was a wonderful night with the Proper Ornaments providing an incredible support slot.

The video for the title track ‘Young Silence’, produced by Dan Nixon and Dom Jones using Microsoft’s Kinect sensor, is something very special indeed;


Forest Swords – Miarches


Echo Lake – Young Silence