Wolfboy at the Amersham Arms – Monday 14th January

by

Last night I was at the Amersham Arms in New Cross for the bi-monthly night ‘Wolfboy’.

All three acts were great, which happens rarely in my experience…

Charly Morris opened the night with a set of her own acoustic songs. Her voice is stunning.

I’m going to ask her if I can have an MP3 to put up, hopefully that’ll come soon.

For now go to her myspace and listen to ‘Brand New Girlfriend’

Charly also plays in ‘Le Tetsuo’ here

I fucking love this cover art.

Esiotrot were next on. They are part of the Mentalist Association, a group of artists and musicians which started in 2000 in the Maidstone and Medway area of Kent. These guys also play around south east london a fair bit which is a great thing.

Esiotrot are a really good uplifting band, sounding somewhat like Hefner and drawing influence from Jens Lekman, Sonic Youth and Apples In Stereo among others.

This was their first gig in three months, I really hope they’ll start playing more.

Download/listen

Esiotrot – Emily Scott

You can buy Mentalist Association releases and random stuff here

Check out Yeborobo too, they played at the previous Wolfboy and it looked something like this.. put seeing them live on your list of things to do…

Headlining the night was ‘Miss Sills’, who I feel it’s only fair I point out that I live in the same house as so to some extent I’m biased and so am not going to write a personal review.

Her set was great though and the crowd loved it, check her out for yourself and take any opportunity to see her with her band soon, I think the next gig she has is 17th January at the Gladstone.

Download/Listen

Miss Sills – 60th birthday

Miss Sills – If I was a conjurer

Miss Sills myspace

Bring on the next Wolfboy.

Leave a Reply

